Recently State Government of Karnataka notified that, the Vijayanagara has become the 31st district of the state of Karnataka officially.  The district has its headquarter at Hosapete.

Vijayanagara District

  • Itt is located in Hyderabad-Karnataka region.
  • Vijayanagara district also be the home to UNESCO World Heritage sites namely the Hampi and Virupaksha Temple.
  • They has been named after the capital of the Vijayanagar Empire.
  • It was established out of the ore-rich Ballari district in accordance with the Karnataka Land Revenue Act of 1964.
  • Vijayanagara district will comprise of 6 taluks namely the Hosapete, kotturu, Kudligi, Hagaribommanahalli, Harapanahalli and Hoovina Hadagali.


The Chief Minister of Karnataka BS Yediyurappa had announced his plan of creating a new Vijayanagara district in the month of September by 2019. CM had cited it is required to create a new district for the administrative reasons. Yediyurappa was of the view that Creation of the new district will help in promoting the tourism to the places like Hampi temple. CM also said, the move will help in the development of 6 talukas that are part of the district. Thus, the state Cabinet of Karnataka formally approved the creation of a new vijayanagara district on 18th November 2020.


The plan of creating the new district was highly criticised and faced opposition from the ruling party. Further, the move was criticised because of the view that division of the Ballari district to create a new district could lead to a linguistic dispute in between Telugu speaking people and Kannada speaking people with in the district.

Hampi or Hampe

Hampe is a UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization) World Heritage Site which is located in east-central Karnataka. The site is a pilgrimage centre of the Hindu religion. The Hampi region used to be the capital of the Vijayanagara Empire in 14th century. Hampi-Vijayanagara was the second-largest medieval-era city of the world following Beijing.

Vijayanagara 31st district of Karnataka