United Arab Emirate’s V President Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum have announced that the UAE will extend its Golden Visa System.  UAE golden visa system grants for single decade (10 year) residency in the Gulf countries to some professionals, and specialised degree-holders.

Golden Visa system

It is a permanent residency visa issued to individuals who invest, work in the field of doctors, computer engineers and provide service into the issuing country. The issuing of golden visas expanded dramatically during the 21st century with around 25 per cent of all countries issuing such visas as of 2015.


The Foreigners in the UAE usually gets the facility of renewable visas which is valid for only a few years and is tied to employment. So, the UAE government in the in the recent years has made its visa policy more flexible and is offering longer residencies for certain types of investors, students and professionals. In 2018, UAE government first ever introduced long-term visa plan and it started granting the long-term 5 year and 10 year renewable visas to certain entrepreneurs, foreign investors, chief executives, scientists and outstanding students. In the line, UAE golden visa system has been extended for 1 decade (10 years).

Who will get benefit?

All foreigners who holding a medical doctors, doctorate degrees, electronics engineers, computer engineers, programming, electrical and biotechnology engineers are eligible for the Visa.  The visa benefits can also be availed by those having a specialised degrees in AI, big data and epidemiology (study and analysis of the distribution). High school students living in the Emirates who rank top in the country and students from certain universities with a GPA of 3.8 or higher are also eligible for this Visa system.

Emirates Visa Policy

People visiting the UAE must obtain a visa prior to travel. However, citizens coming from one of the visa exempt countries or one of the countries whose citizens are eligible for visa on arrival (VoA) need not get visa prior to visit. Citizens of the member countries of the GCC (Gulf Cooperation Council) have a freedom of movement in the Emirates. Though, there is one exception for the citizens of Qatar. Since 2017, Qatar’s Citizens have no longer the freedom of movement in United Arab Emirates unless they belong to the family member of a resident.

Visa On Arrival (VoA)

Visa Holders of normal passports from the 20 countries are eligible to get a free visa on arrival and is valid for 30 days. The countries are

  • UK
  • US
  • Canada
  • Andorra
  • Kazakhstan
  • Australia
  • Brunei
  • Hong Kong
  • Ireland
  • Mauritius
  • Malaysia
  • Monaco
  • San Marino
  • Singapore
  • New Zealand
  • Vatican City
  • Bahamas (90 days)
  • South Korea (90 days)
  • Costa Rica (90 days)
  • Maldives (90 days)

United Arab Emirates

United Arab Emirates is a sovereign state in Western Asia at the eastern end of the Arabian Peninsula. UAE share border with the Sultanate of Oman and Saudi Arabia, and has maritime borders in the Persian Gulf with Qatar and the Islamic Republic of Iran. UAE Expands 10-Year Golden Visa Eligibility UAE Expands 10-Year Golden Visa Eligibility