The National Academy of Letters have announced the names for the “Sahitya Akademi Award for 2020 on 12th March 2021. The names were announced during the opening of annual ‘Festival of Letters’ event.

  • The Sahitya Akademi Award will be bestowed upon the politician-writer M Veerappa Moily, poet Arundhathi Subramaniam along with other twenty writers.
  • Subramaniam have won the award for her poetry collection called ‘When God is a Traveller‘ in English.
  • Veerappa Moily has been named for his epic poetry called Sri Bahubali Ahimsa Digvijayam‘ in Kannada language.
  • The list comprises of 7 books of poetry, 5 short stories, four novels, 2 plays, and one memoir and one epic poetry in 20 Indian languages.
  • The awards for Nepali, Malayalam, Odia and Rajasthani Languages will be announced later.

Other Awardees

  • In the “Poetry Category” the Sahitya Akademi Award was bestowed upon
    • Harish Meenakshi (Gujarati),
    • RS Bhaskar (Konkani),
    • Anamika (Hindi),
    • Irungbam Deven (Manipuri),
    • Nikhileshwar (Telugu) and
    • Rupchand Hansda (Santali).
  • In the “Novel Category”
    • Imaiyam (Tamil),
    • Nanda Khare (Marathi),
    • Mahesh Chandra Sharma Gautam (Sanskrit), and
    • Sri Hussain-ul-Haque have been named as winner.
  • While, Apurba Kumar Saikia (Assamese), Hiday Koul Bharti (Kashmiri), Dharanidhar Owari (Bodo), Gurdev Singh Rupana (Punjab) and Kamakant Jha (Maithili) have won the award for short stories.

Selection procedure

These books were selected following the recommendations made by a jury of 3 members of the concerned languages. They made their final decision in accordance with the procedure which was set down for this purpose. Under it, the Executive Board declared the Awards based on unanimous selections made by jurors or selection made in accordance with the majority vote.

About Sahitya Akademi Award

Sahitya Akademi Award is a literary honour in India and it is conferred by Sahitya Akademi which is India’s National Academy of Letters. This award is conferred to the most outstanding books of literary merit which is published in any 24 major Indian languages including Hindi, English and other 22 languages of the Eighth Schedule of Constitution. The Sahitya Akademi Award includes a casket comprising of an engraved copper plaque, a shawl and amount of Rupees 1,00000.

Sahitya Akademi Award for 2020