Russia’s space industry announced that the country is going to launch 40 satellites into orbit from 18 different countries by March 2021.

Points To Note

  • 40 satellites will be launched using the Soyuz-2 carrier rocket.
  • It was also informed in November by 2020 that the space industry will blast off the Soyuz-2.1 on 20th March 2021.
  • Soyuz 2.1 is a carrier rocket with the Fregat booster.
  • It will be blast off with the South Korean Compact Advanced Satellite 500 space vehicle called CAS500-1.
  • Payloads from 18 countries will also be launched into orbit along with Soyuz 2.1 and CAS500-1.
  • However, the list of the satellites is not yet finalised.
  • The Soyuz-2.1 payload will launch satellites from Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Japan, South Korea, United Arab Emirates, Israel, Thailand, Germany, Brazil, Canada, Italy, Hungary, Argentina, Netherland, Slovakia, Spain, Tunisia and UK.


Soyuz-2 is the advanced version of the Russian Soyuz rocket. The basis version of the rocket is a 3-stage launch vehicle that is used to place the payloads into low Earth orbit (LEO). The first-stage of the rocket boosters and 2 core stages feature the uprated engines along with the improved injection systems. The rocket system also comprises of the Digital flight control and telemetry systems. It allows the rocket launching from a fixed launch platform. The rocket flown with an upper stage. The upper stage allows the rocket to lift the payloads into higher orbits. It is usually equipped with the independent flight control and telemetry systems.


Soyuz is a family of Soviet expendable launch systems. It has been developed by OKB-1 while the Progress Rocket Space Centre have manufactured it in Samara, Russia. It launched its first satellite in the year 1966. Till date it has launched over 1700 flights. It is the most frequently used launch vehicle in the world.

Russia to launch 40 Satellites Russia to launch 40 Satellites