Russian Space Agency, Roscosmos has successfully put 38 satellites for 18 countries into orbit from Baikonur cosmodrome in Kazakhstan.

The Space Agency, published a video showing its Soyuz rocket was launched against the grey and cloudy skies. Soyuz rocket successfully placed satellites (into orbit) from countries including Japan, South Korea, Saudi Arabia, Canada, Italy, Germany and Brazil. The launcher also launched “Challenge-1 satellite”, which is the first satellite completely made in the Republic of Tunisia, created by US based Telnet Telecommunications group.

About Soyuz-2.1a

Russian carrier rocket comprising of the Fregat upper stage. The 2.1a version of the Soyuz satellite comprise of conversion from analog to digital flight control system and the uprated engines on booster. This new digital flight control and telemetry systems rocket which is launched from the fixed platform rather than angled launch platform. The digital control system also provides for the launch of larger commercial satellites comprising of the wider and longer payload fairings like ST-type fairing.


The family of Soviet expendable launch systems which has been developed by OKB-1 and manufactured by Progress Rocket Space Centre in Samara, Russia. Soyuz is the most frequently used launch vehicle in the world. These vehicles are used as the launcher for crewed Soyuz spacecraft under the Soyuz programme.


Launch of 38 satellites is of great significance in the light that, the Russian Space Sector is lagging behind ever since the fall of USSR. It also lagged behind the international competitors because of several by corruption scandals and technological stagnation. In 2018, Russia had launched a Soyuz rocket carrying the Russian cosmonaut and a NASA (National Aeronautics and Space Administration) astronaut. But this mission was failed mid-flight and crew had to carry out emergency landing.

Russia launched 38 satellites for 18 countries Russia launched 38 satellites for 18 countries