Recently Russian Federation expelled 7 diplomats of Estonia, Latvia, Romania, Slovakia, Lithuania, Czech diplomats. It was retaliation from Russia after the countries expelled the Russian diplomats.


The Czech Republic ordered Russian staff to leave the embassy. The order was passed based on the accusations that Russian Intelligence Officers were behind 2014 explosion.

About 2014 Explosion

In the year 2014, two explosions occurred in a Czech Ammunition depot. Ammunition Depots are military storage units.

Russia and Czech Republic

The Czech Republic is a member of NATO (North Atlantic Treaty Organizatio), European Union and OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development). The relations of the country with Russia after the latter annexed Crimea in the year 2014.

Annexation of Crimea

The political status of Crimea is disputed between Russia and Ukraine. This is called the Crimean issue. In the year 2014, Russia seized Crimea from Ukraine.

Baltic Countries

Latvia, Estonia and Lithuania are called Baltic countries gets its name from the Baltic sea that surrounds the region.  The countries declared independence from Soviet Union in the year 1991.

India-Baltic Countries

Latvia and Lithuania both countries support India in its permanent membership in United Nations Security Council. In the year 2019, Vice President Ram Nath Kovind visited the countries. He addressed the first India-Latvia Business Forum.

Balkan countries

  • The Baltic countries are different from Balkan countries. The Balkan countries are located in the Balkan Peninsula. It is bordered by Ionian Sea in the southwest, Adriatic Sea in northwest and Ionian Sea in the southwest.
  • They are Bosnia, Albania, Bulgaria, Herzegovina, Kosovo, Montenegro, Macedonia, Serbia, Romania and Slovenia.
  • The region takes the name after the Balkan Mountains.

Russia expels 7 European Diplomats Russia expels 7 European Diplomats