Every year Right Livelihood Award Foundation has announced the 4 winners of the Right Livelihood Award 2020 which is also known as the alternative Nobel Prize in Sweden’s Stockholm.

The 4 activists are

  • Ales Bialiatski (Human rights activist) of Belarus, 
  • Nasrin Sotoudeh (Human rights lawyer) of Iran, 
  • Bryan Stevenson (American lawyer) of the United States of America and 
  • Lottie Cunningham Wren of Nicaragua

All of them shared the Right Livelihood Award 2020 award for their contribution towards equality, democracy, justice and freedom.

Points To Note

  • Ales Bialiatski and Nasrin Sotoudeh received the award for their contribution to the realisation of democracy in Belarus and human rights in Iran respectively.
  • Bryan Stevenson, a United States civil rights lawyer, received the award for his efforts to reform the criminal justice system and the advance racial reconciliation in the United States.
  • Lottie Cunningham Wren received the award for her contribution in protecting indigenous lands and communities from exploitation.