Rajasthan congress government presented its third state budget and the first paperless budget on 24th February 2021 in the state assembly. The Chief minister, Ashok Gehlot, holds the finance portfolio and he finalised the budget on 23rd February 2021.

State Legislative Assembly

Rajasthan legislative assembly is the unicameral legislature. The legislative assembly meets at the Vidhan Bhavan in Jaipur. The members (MLA) of the state Legislative assembly are directly elected by the people. They are elected for a term of five years. Currently, the legislative assembly is comprising of 200 members.


First state Legislative Assembly was inauguratedby March 1952. Its tenure was from 1952 to 1957. The Legislative assembly then had the strength of 160 members. By 1956 the strength of the assembly was increased to 190 by merging the Ajmer State with Rajasthan. The second legislative assembly was inaugurated in the year 1957 with 176 members. Following this, third legislative assembly was inaugurated in 1962 with 176. The 4th and the 5th assembly had 184 members. The strength of the assembly was increased to 200 with the 6th legislative assembly that ran from 1977 to 1980. The 14th Legislative Assembly was started in January 2013. Umed Singh of Barmer became the youngest member of Rajasthan Legislative Assembly in the year 1962.

The Unicameral Legislature

The Unicameral Legislature means the legislature which comprises of a single legislative or parliamentary chamber or house. Almost half of the world’s sovereign states are unicameral. However, China lies in between having a legislature and a formal advisory body.

About State Budget

It is laid down before the house of houses of legislatures in the state in accordance with Article 202 of the Constitution of India. The budget comprises of the estimated statement of receipt and expenditure for a financial year.

Rajasthan Presents First Paperless Budget Rajasthan Presents First Paperless Budget