Prahlad Singh Mulayam Singh Patel Union Minister of Culture and Minister of Tourism inaugurated the “Tourist Facilitation Centre” at Kerala’s Guruvayur on 4 Nov 2020. The Guruvayur Tourist facilitation centre was constructed under the PRASAD Scheme. The Scheme launched by Ministry of Tourism in 2015.

Points To Note

  • Ministry of Tourism assign Rs 11.57 crores to construct Tourist Facilitation centre.
  • Tourist Facilitation centre has been constructed under the “Development of Guruvayur” project of PRASHAD scheme.
  • For the project, Ministry of Tourism assign Rs 45.36 crores.
  • Tourist Facilitation centre also comprises the components such as CCTV Network infrastructure, multi-level car parking and tourist amenities centre.


PRASAD stands for Pilgrimage Rejuvenation and Spiritual Augmentation Drive was launched in 2015 by Tourism Ministry. The PRASAD scheme has been aimed at developing the infrastructure like entry points, last mile connectivity, eco-friendly modes of transport, ATM and Money exchanges, interpretation centres including other basic tourism facilities.

PRASAD scheme focuses on infrastructural developments at the pilgrimage sites. A part from that, the Tourism Ministry also undertook several infrastructure related developmental activities at Buddhist sites across india. The developments are being undertaken under the PRASAD scheme and Swadesh Darshan Scheme (launched in 2015).

Under the PRASAD scheme , the Tourism Ministry identified 30 infrastructural development projects such as development of Ajanta, Bodhgaya and Ellora. The scheme also identifies understated cities for the infrastructure development are:

  1. Amaravati (Andhra Pradesh)
  2. Amritsar (Punjab)
  3. Ajmer (Rajasthan)
  4. Dwarka (Gujarat)
  5. Gaya (Bihar)
  6. Kanchipuram (Tamil Nadu)
  7. Kamakhya (Assam)
  8. Kedarnath (Uttarakhand)
  9. Mathura (Uttar Pradesh)
  10. Puri (Odisha)
  11. Varanasi (Uttar Pradesh)
  12. Velankanni (Tamil Nadu)

About Swadesh Darshan Scheme

Swadesh Darshan Scheme launched by Tourism Ministry in 2015. The Scheme aims to promote, develop and boost the potential of tourism across india. This scheme is introduced by Central Government. Swadesh Darshan scheme focuses on theme-based tourism. Each theme is called a “circuit”. It includes following circuits:

  1. Spiritual circuit
  2. Himalayan circuit
  3. Heritage circuit
  4. North-East circuit
  5. Rural circuit
  6. Desert circuit
  7. Buddhist circuit
  8. Ramayana circuit
  9. Coastal circuit
  10. Sufi circuit
  11. Tribal circuit
  12. Tirthankar circuit
  13. Krishna circuit
  14. Eco circuit


Both PRASAD and Swadesh Darshan Scheme is 100% funded by the Government of India. Tourist Facilitation Centre inaugurated in Kerala Tourist Facilitation Centre inaugurated in Kerala