The current President of the United States of America, Joe Biden, has invited 40 top world leaders including PM Narendra Modi, for a USA-hosted virtual summit on climate in April 2021. This Summit will be organised to underline the urgency and economic benefits of stronger climate action.

  • President Biden will host a 2-day climate summit of top world leaders.
  • The summit will start on the occasion of Earth Day on 22nd April 2021.
  • In this summit, Joe Biden will underline US goal to reduce carbon emissions by the 2030.
  • Climate summit is known as “nationally determined contribution” under Paris accord.
  • Apart from Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Chinese President Xi Jinping and President of Russia Vladimir Putin were invited for the conference.
  • This Summit will be a key milestone towards UN Climate Change Conference (COP26) in November, 2021 in Glasgow.
  • US President has also invited the heads of other countries which are demonstrating strong climate leadership.
  • Small number of business and leaders of civil will also participate in the summit.
  • Pakistan Prime Minister Imran Khan not invited.


According to the White House statement, the top Leaders’ Summit and the COP26 summit will be organised with the objective of catalysing efforts in order to keep the goal of limiting the global temperature at 1.5°C. This Summit will also underline the examples of how enhanced climate ambition will create good paying jobs, help vulnerable countries to adapt to climate change impacts and to advance innovative technologies. The United States of America will also announce an ambitious 2030 emissions target as “new Nationally Determined Contribution” under the 2015 Paris Agreement. US-hosted summit will reconvene US-led Major Economies Forum on Energy and Climate. This forum will bring together 17 countries which are responsible for 80% of global emissions and GDP.

List of Top World Leaders invited

US President invited the following leaders to participate in the Summit:

  1. Prime Minister Gaston Browne, Antigua and Barbuda
  2. President Alberto Fernandez, Argentina 
  3. Prime Minister Scott Morrison, Australia    
  4. Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, Bangladesh
  5. Prime Minister Lotay Tshering, Bhutan
  6. President Jair Bolsonaro, Brazil    
  7. Prime Minister Justin Trudeau, Canada          
  8. President Sebastián Piñera, Chile 
  9. President Xi Jinping, People’s Republic of China    
  10. President Iván Duque Márquez, Colombia    
  11. President Félix Tshisekedi, Democratic Republic of the Congo
  12. Prime Minister Mette Frederiksen, Denmark 
  13. President Ursula von der Leyen, European Commission
  14. President Charles Michel, European Council
  15. President Emmanuel Macron, France        
  16. President Ali Bongo Ondimba, Gabon        
  17. Chancellor Angela Merkel, Germany 
  18. Prime Minister Narendra Modi, India    
  19. President Joko Widodo, Indonesia      
  20. Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu, Israel
  21. Prime Minister Mario Draghi, Italy    
  22. Prime Minister Andrew Holness, Jamaica
  23. Prime Minister Yoshihide Suga, Japan  
  24. President Uhuru Kenyatta, Kenya      
  25. President David Kabua, Republic of the Marshall Islands
  26. President Andrés Manuel López Obrador, Mexico  
  27. Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern, New Zealand
  28. President Muhammadu Buhari, Nigeria        
  29. Prime Minister Erna Solberg, Norway 
  30. President Andrzej Duda, Poland  
  31. President Moon Jae-in, Republic of Korea     
  32. President Vladimir Putin, The Russian Federation  
  33. King Salman bin Abdulaziz Al Saud, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia
  34. Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, Singapore
  35. President Matamela Cyril Ramaphosa, South Africa 
  36. Prime Minister Pedro Sánchez, Spain
  37. President Recep Tayyip Erdoğan, Turkey
  38. President Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan, United Arab Emirates
  39. Prime Minister Boris Johnson, United Kingdom
  40. President Nguyễn Phú Trọng, Vietnam    

PM Modi invited for USA hosted Virtual Climate Summit