border dispute between two Indian states Odisha and Andhra Pradesh once again resurfaced when Andhra Pradesh announced panchayat polls in 3 villages of Kotia panchayat in Koraput district of Odisha.

Border Disputes of Odisha

  • The state was carved out of the Bengal-Bihar-Odisha province on 1st April in 1936, but the inter-state border disputes continue even today.
    • Odisha continues to have unresolved border disputes with 4 States in its 8 out of 30 districts.
    • 14 of the 30 districts share borders with Andhra Pradesh, West Bengal, Chhattisgarh and Jharkhand. However, the disputes over Kotia villages in Koraput district bordering Andhra Pradesh is the only major border conflict.
  • Kotia Dispute
    • Both Odisha and Andhra Pradesh are locked in a territorial dispute over Kotia gram panchayat since the 1960. Disputes pertain over 21 villages in Kotia gram panchayat.
    • Residents of Kotia panchayat receive benefits from both Pottangi block in Koraput and Salur in Vizianagaram district of Andhra Pradesh. They depend on both the blocks for their day to day activities.
  • Water Dispute with Andhra Pradesh
    • In the year 2006, Odisha sent a complaint to the Central Government under Section 3 of the Inter-State River Water Disputes Act of 1956 regarding its water disputes with Andhra Pradesh pertaining to Inter-State River Vamsadhara.

Disputes with Other States

  • West Bengal
    • The states Odisha and West Bengal have disputes over 27 plots in Balasore District and some areas in Mayurbhanj district of Odisha.
    • Mayurbhanj district is known for its iron ore reserves and Chhau dance (a tribal dance in which dancers wear colorful masks).
  • Jharkhand
    • Odisha and Jharkhand border dispute arises due to change in course of river Baitarani.
      • The Baitarani river originates from the hill ranges of Keonjhar district of Odisha.
      • It is an east flowing river of peninsular India, flowing eastward and joining the Bay of Bengal.
      • Major portion of its catchment lies in the state of Odisha and a small patch of the upper reach falls in Jharkhand.
  • Chhattisgarh
    • With Chhattisgarh, Odisha has disputes relating to villages in Nabarangpur and Jharsuguda district.
    • In 2018, Government of India constituted Mahanadi Water Disputes Tribunal.


Inter state dialogues, deliberations in Inter State councils and Tribunals and sticking the spirit of Cooperative federalism should be adopted to resolve such disputes.

Odisha Border Disputes with four states