Nobel Prize 2020 for Physics has been awarded to Andrea Mia Ghez, Sir Roger Penrose OM FRS and Reinhard Genzel ForMemRS for their research on black holes.

Sir Roger Penrose was honored for the discovery that black hole formation is robust prediction of theory of relativity. In simple words, theory of relativity led to the discovery of black holes. Andrea Mia Ghez and Reinhard Genzel ForMemRS have been honored for the discovery of supermassive object at the centre of Milky Way Galaxy. They discovered that Milky Way Galaxy has a supermassive black hole a the centre.

American astronomer, Andrea Ghez becomes the 4th woman to receive the Nobel Prize in the category of physics. The prize money of $10 million is to be shared between the 3 scientists.


Sonce 1903, only 3 women have won Nobel Prize for Physics. They were French-Polish physicist, Marie Skłodowska Curie (1903), American-German theoretical physicist, Maria Goeppert-Mayer (1963) and Canadian optical physicist, Donna Theo Strickland (2018). Marie Curie had also won Nobel Prize for Chemistry in 2011 and is the only woman to win the prize in 2 categories.

Nobel Prize for Physics

The only Indian who has received Nobel Prize for Physics was Sir Chandrasekhara Venkata Raman in 1930. C. V. Raman discovered the Raman Effect. The Nobel Prize for Physics was not awarded in 6 years. This was in 1916, 1931, 1934 and in 1940, 1941 and 1942 because of world wars.

Raman Effect

Raman Effect is the scattering of light particles by molecules in a medium. This occurs as the wavelength of light changes as it enters a medium.

Nobel Prize for Physics 2020