Annually National Wildlife Week is celebrated in India between 2nd October and 8th October. It is being celebrated since 1954. The main objective of celebrating the day is to save the lives of Indian animals by taking critical steps.

Though the day is celebrated by several organizations all over India, the celebrations are mainly organized by National Board of Wildlife (NBW).

The forest departments of India organize bird watching in wetlands. Conferences, Workshops, symposiums, education trainings and lectures are organised.

What are the objectives?

The National Wildlife Week (NWW) is celebrated nationwide under the following objectives

  • To make people aware of the protection and conservation of wildlife
  • To implement services that preserve wildlife
  • The discuss and identify issues related to wildlife preservation.

Wild Life conservation in India

India is one of the 17 mega diversities of the world. Therefore, it is important for India to conserve and protect its biodiversity. The Government of India has launched several programmes to conserve its wildlife. Some of the key programmes are as follows

  • Project Tiger: Launched in 1972 and is the most successful wildlife programme of the Government of India
  • Project Elephant
  • Crocodile Conservation Project
  • United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) Sea Turtle Project
  • Protected Areas were created by Wildlife Protection Act, 1972
  • Wetland (conservation and management) rules, 2010 were drafted


The acts that conserve biodiversity of India are as follows

  • Indian Forests Act, 1972
  • Fisheries Act, 1897
  • Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Act, 1960
  • Environment Protection Act, 1986
  • Biological Diversity Act, 2002
  • Forest Conservation Act, 1980

Mega Diverse Countries

The United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) has identified 17 mega-diverse countries in the world. They are the Commonwealth of Australia, the People’s Republic of China, the Federative Republic of Brazil, Colombia, United States of America, Ecuador, the Republic of India, the Republic of the Philippines, the Republic of Indonesia, Malaysia, the Republic of Madagascar, Papua New Guinea. the United Mexican States, Peru, South Africa, Democratic Republic of Congo and Venezuela.

Out of these, 12 met in 2002 and adopted Cancun Declaration. India is one amongst them to sign the declaration. Later, 3 more joined.

These 17 countries contribute to 70 per cent of terrestrial biological diversity of the mother earth occupying just 10 per cent of her surface.

Criteria for a mega-diverse country

A Country is called a mega-diverse country under following conditions

  • The country should have at least 5 thousand endemic plants
  • It should have marine ecosystems within its borders

National Wildlife Week 2020 National Wildlife Week 2020