IPL Team, Mumbai Indians won the 2020 IPL Trophy for the 5th time in its history. The Mumbai Indians has so far won the IPL Trophy in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019 and 2020. Rohit Sharma was the captain of the Mumbai Indians.

Reliance Industries’s Nita Ambani Sponsor Mumbai Indians team.


In 2007, BCCI has announced about the establishment of IPL. After a single year In 2008, it unveiled owners of 8 city-based franchises. The teams are owned by the following establishments

  • India Cements owns Chennai Super Kings
  • GMR Group and JSW Group owns Delhi Capitals
  • Preity Zinta, Karan Paul and Mohit Burman owns Kings XI Punjab
  • Red Chillies Entertainment owns Kokalata Knight Riders
  • Reliance Industries owns Mumbai Indians
  • Manij Badale owns Rajasthan Royals
  • Sun TV Network owns Sunrisers Hyderabd

Indian Premier League

According to Board of Control for Cricket in India, In 2015, IPL contributed $160 million to the Indian economy. It was the first sporting event to be broadcasted live on video platfrom Youtube. The teams play in a home-and-away round robin format.

What is Round Robin Format?

Round Robin is a format in which each contestant meets all the other contestants.


ICL stands for Indian Cricket League. ICL was founded in 2007 and It was founded through the funding of the Zee Enterprises. However, Indian Cricket League was not recognized by the BCCI, ICC (International Cricket Council). In order to prevent the players from joining the Indian Cricket League, BCCI increased prize money in their domestic tournaments and also imposed lifetime bans on players joining Indian Cricket League.

What are Television Timeouts used in IPL?

Indian Premier League uses Television timeout. It is a break in a televised live event. Here, the game clock is stopped for a period of time to allow for TV commercials to air.

Time out occurs in cricket when an incoming batsman is not ready to play. By rule, the incoming batsman should reach within 3 minutes of the previous batsman being out. This, however, has never occurred in international matches. Mumbai Indians win IPL for the 5th time Mumbai Indians win IPL for the 5th time