6th President of Sri Lanka, Percy Mahendra Rajapaksa took oath as the PM for the 4th time, after his party secured a landslide victory in the parliamentary elections on August 5th, 2020. Rajapaksa was administered the oath of office for the 9th Parliament by his younger brother and 8th President Gotabaya Rajapaksa at a historic Buddhist temple, Rajamaha Viharaya in Kelaniya, a north Colombo suburb.

More than 7 Decades old Sri Lanka People’s Party now Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna leader has been appointed as the Prime Minister of Sri Lanka. In 2004, Mahinda Rajapaksa was first elected PM and again appointed for brief periods in 2018 and 2019. Rajapaksa has also served as the Sri Lankan president from 2005 to 2015.

Mahinda Rajapaksa elected as Sri Lanka PM Mahinda Rajapaksa elected as Sri Lanka PM