The President office reveals that Advocate K.K. Venugopal has reappointed as the Attorney General for India. The tenure of K.K. Venugopal was up to 30th June 2020, his tenure was extended for a period of one year effect from 1st July 2020.

K.K. Venugopal succeeded Mukul Rohatgi to become the 15th Attorney General of India.

Tushar Mehta has been re-appointed as the Solicitor General for a period of three years or until further orders.

The Senior advocates, Balbir Singh, Suryaprakash V Raju, R S Suri, N Venkataraman, Jayant K Sud, and Aishwarya Bhati were also appointed as additional solicitor generals.

The Appointments Committee of the Union Cabinet also re-appointed 5 Additional Solicitor General (ASG) for three years-Yezdezard Jehangir Dastoor for the Calcutta High Court, Chetan Sharma for the Delhi High Court, R. Sankaranarayanan for the Madras High Court, Dr. Krishna Nandan Singh for the Patna High Court and Devang Girish Vyas for the Gujarat high court.

K.K.Venugopal re-appointed Attorney General K.K.Venugopal re-appointed Attorney General