Every year the Coral Triangle Day is observed on June 9. The Day is observed by the Coral Triangle Initiative.

Coral Triangle Initiative
The Initiative is a multilateral partnership of 6 countries namely in the Asia-Pacific region: Malaysia, Indonesia, Philippines, Solomon Islands, Papua New Guinea, Timor-Leste. The Coral Triangle Initiative is also called the Coral Triangle Initiative on Coral Reefs, Fisheries and Food Security (CTI-CFF). It is a multilateral partnership of 6 countries that are working to sustain marine and coastal resources and address issued such as food security.

The Coral Triangle Day is not only celebrated in these 6 countries. It is also celebrated in several other countries that are influenced by this region. It is an open source event that brings together organizations, individuals and establishments. June 9- The Coral Triangle Day

Coral Triangle
The Coral Triangle is the world epicentre of marine diversity that is spread across the above 6 countries. The region is important as it consists of 76 percent of coral species, 37 percent of coral reef fish and 53 percent of world coral reef. It is one of the three mega complexes on the Earth.

Mega Complexes of the Earth
Along with the Coral Triangle, the other two Mega Complexes of the earth includes Amazon rain forest and Congo Basin. June 9- The Coral Triangle Day