Recently Indian Navy launches 5th Scorpene submarine “Vagir” at Mazagon Dock of south Mumbai. The submarine is capable to participate in naval drills such as anti-surface warfare, anti-submarine warfare, mine laying, intelligence gathering and area surveillance.

Vagir submarine is a part of 6 Kalvari class submarine (diesel-electric attack submarines) that is being built Make in India initiative. These submarines were designed by French Navy and an energy company DCNS (Direction des Constructions Navales). The 6 submarines were built under Project-75 of Indian Navy.

vagir submarine

The Scorpene submarine Vagir has been named after Sand Fish. It is a deep-sea predator in the Indian Ocean. In 1973, The first Vagir was commissioned in Indian Navy and designed and manufacture by Russian Federation.

What is Project 75 of Indian Navy?

Indian Navy Project 75 aims to build 6 Scorpene Class attack submarine. These are diesel-electric attack submarines. The Scorpene Class submarines were built through ToT (transfer of technology) from a French Company DCNS at Mazagon Dock Ltd.

  • Under the Project 75, the first Scorpene submarine Kalvari was commissioned in 2017.
  • Second Scorpene Class Submarine that was commissioned in 2017 under the project was Scorpene Khanderi.
  • In 2018, third Scorprene class submarine was INS Karanj was commissioned.
  • In 2018, fourth Scorpene submarine INS Vela was commissioned and
  • The 5th Scorpene submarine INS Vagir was commissioned in Indian Navy.
  • INS Vagsheer is yet to be commissioned and is still under construction.

Scorpene Class Submarine (SCS)

The Scorpene Class Submarine is a diesel-electric attack submarine that was jointly developed by DCNS and Spanish Navantia.

The beneficial feature of the Scorpene Class submarines is that they have an additional air-independent propulsion.

What is Air-Independent Propulsion?

Air-Independent Propulsion is a marine propulsion technology (MPT) that allows non-nuclear submarine to operate without accessing surface oxygen (or atmospheric oxygen).

Submarines in Indian Navy

The Nuclear-powered submarines that are currently active in service In Indian Navy are as follows

  • Arihant-class (nuclear-powered ballistic missile submarines )
  • Chakra Class (nuclear-powered attack submarine)

The Diesel Electric submarines that are currently active in service are as follows

  • Shishumar class (diesel-electric attack submarines)
  • Kalvari class (diesel-electric attack submarines)
  • Sindhughosh class (Kilo-class diesel-electric submarines)

Indian Navy launches fifth Scorpene Submarine Vagir