India’s Defence Research and Development Organisation successfully test fired the BrahMos medium-range ramjet surface-to-surface supersonic cruise missile having an indigenous booster and airframe section at Odisha’s Balasore on 30 September 2020.

About Brahmos missile

  • BrahMos was developed by jointly by Defence Research Development Organization and Russia’s Federal State Unitary Enterprise NPO Mashinostroyenia.
  • BrahMos is a medium ramjet supersonic cruise missile which can be launched from submarines, land, ships or fighter jets.
  • It is a 2 stage missile with:
    1. A solid propellant booster engine as its first stage- it brings the missile to supersonic speed after which it gets separated
    2. And the liquid ramjet or the second stage- which takes the missile closer to Mach 3 or three times the speed of sound in cruise phase.
  • It has been named after the rivers Tri river (China, India, Bangladesh) Brahmaputra and Russia’s Moskva.
  • It has a flight range of 300 kilometer.
  • The range of Brahmos missile has been increased to 450-600 kilometer in compliance with the Missile Technology Control Regime.

Missile Technology Control Regime

In 1987, the Missile Technology Control Regime was started by the G7 countries.  There are 35 members in total. India became the member of Missile Technology Control Regime in 2016. The members of MTCR are required to establish national export control policies for cruise missiles, unmanned aerial missiles, ballistic missiles, drones, space launch vehicles and the underlying components and technologies.

Different other treaties

Limited Ban Treaty

India has ratified the Limited Ban Treaty. The LBT prohibits nuclear experiments in ground, outer space and under water.

Treaty on Outer Space

India signed the Treaty on Outer Space in 1967. It prohibits countries to test nuclear weapons in the orbit of moon and other celestial bodies.

Non-Proliferation Treaty

India has not signed the Non-Proliferation Treaty. India is one among the 5 countries that did not sign the treaty. The other four countries are South Sudan, Pakistan, Israel and North Korea. 3 main objectives of Non-Proliferation Treaty are non-proliferation, disarmament and right to peacefully use nuclear technology.

Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty

Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty intends to ban all nuclear explosions. So far 182 countries have signed the treaty after it opened for signature in 1996. India has still not signed the Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty.

Fissile Material Cut-Off Treaty

Fissile Material Cut-Off Treaty prohibits the production of nuclear weapons based on two main components. They are Plutonium and highly-enriched Uranium.

G7 countries

The Group of Seven is an international intergovernmental economic organization. It consists of  7 major developed countries including Canada, Italy, Japan, France, Germany, UK and the United States of America. These countries are the largest International Monetary Fund-advanced economies in the world.  The Group of Seven was founded in 1975. India test fired Brahmos Missile India test fired Brahmos Missile