According to ATK Mohun Bagan club, Hockey legend Gurbux Singh (won the gold medal at the 1964 Summer Olympics.) and Retired Indian cricketer Palash Nandi (He had also captained the Bengal team ) will receive this year’s Mohun Bagan Ratna. The club has decided not to hold the customary ‘Mohun Bagan Day’ function on July 29 2020 owing to the covid-19 pandemic. July 29, 2020 was the date of Bagan’s IFA Shield triumph in 1911 when they defeated East Yorkshire Regiment 2-1.

Other awardees

Ashok Kumar, a member of India’s 1975 World Cup-winning hockey team, will be given the Lifetime Achievement Award along with Pranab Ganguly (football) and Monoranjan Porel (athletics). Joseba Beitia will get the best footballer (senior) prize. Sajal Bag (U-18) has been chosen as the best youth player. Hemang Amin appointed BCCI interim CEO

Gurbux Singh awarded Mohun Bagan Ratna Gurbux Singh awarded Mohun Bagan Ratna