The Bay of Bengal will observe its 2nd Severe Cyclone of the year 2020 called the cyclone Nivar. Earlier in 2020, Super Cyclone Amphan made a landfall. The cyclone Nivar is to make landfall between Tamil Nadu’s Mamallapuram and Karaikal. It is to hit the coastal areas of South Indian state Tamil Nadu, Andhra Pradesh and Pondicherry.

Recently National Crisis Management Committee (NCMC) reviewed the status of cyclone via video conferencing.

About Cyclone Nivar

Once the cyclone Nivar is intensified, it would acquire the name ‘Nivar’. This name has been proposed by Iran (Persia). The depression that has been emerged in the Bay of Bengal would intensify into cyclone soon. The wind speed is expected to range between 70 kilometer to 80 kilometer/ hr to 90 kilometer/ hr. It is also predicted that, the cyclone may further turn into a Severe Cyclone category with a speed of 90 to 100 kilometer/hr gusting to 110 kilometer/hr. The cyclone would cause an extremely heavy rain of the order of 20 cm or more.

The areas would be affected by Cyclone

IMD has issued red alert in the Tamil Nadu. Heavy rain has also been forecast over Rayalaseema, Telangana, coastal Andhra Pradesh, Pondicherry, Karaikal (Union Territory of Puducherry) and south Karnataka. Cyclone Nivar might also hit the Southern Chhattisgarh and Odisha. India Meteorological Department has estimated that the cyclone would cause damage to the Temporary houses and huts. It might uproot the Power and communication lines and  trees. It could also damage the Standing crops as the cyclone would be carrying the saline water.

About National Crisis Management Committee

Government of India set up National Crisis Management Committee in the wake of natural calamity. The Committee gives instructions to the Crisis Management Group. The Crisis Management Group consists of nodal officers from varied ministries.

Disaster Response Team (DRT)

Around 6 NDRF are deployed in parts of Tamil Nadu.

NDRF is National Disaster Response Force

National Disaster Response Force (NDRF)

NDRF is a force constituted under the Disaster Management Act, 2005. The Ministry of Home Affairs is manage natural disasters. The NDRF has 12 battalions. It includes 3 CRPF (central reserve Police Force), 3 BSF (Border Security Force), 2 ITBF (Indo-Tibetan Border Force) and 2 SSB (Sahastra Seema Bal).

The National Disaster Response Force operates under the National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA).

National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA)

NDMA is an apex body that lays down policies for disaster management. National Disaster Management Authority was constituted in 2006 under the Disaster Management Act, 2005. As the bodies constituted under an act of Indian Parliament are statutory body, NDMA is a statutory body. The ex-officio chairperson of the NDMA is the Prime Minister of India. The main objective of the authority is to build a safe and disaster resilient India.

Concerns and Challenges in Disaster Management in India

According to CAG (Comptroller and Auditor General of India) report there are delays and completion of projects undertaken by the NDMA. The numbers were higher in border areas such as Assam, eastern Uttar Pradesh and North Bihar. This is mainly because these regions require long term solutions for flood problems.

According to 2015 CAG report, the Kerala floods in 2018 and Chennai floods in 2015 brought in several changes to address disaster situation. This was mainly because these two floods are till date considered as man-made disasters. Therefore, there is need to predict possible disasters that might arise due to climate change and changing lifestyle in india. Cyclone Nivar hits Tamil Nadu Cyclone Nivar hits Tamil Nadu