Recently Indian Government formed a committee to protect language, land, culture of Union TerritoryLadakh and ensure participation of citizens in the development of Union Territory. The Committee is to be headed by Minister of State for Home G Kishan Reddy. It will include elected representatives from Ladakh, central government and Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development council. Committee formed for preservation of Ladakh

Why was the Kishan Reddy Committee formed?

A 10-member delegation from Union Territory Ladakh met Union Home Minister Amit Shah to express their concerns about the threat to the unique culture, language and demography of the region in the development process. Concerns have also been raised about the rights and demand for the inclusion in the 6th schedule. Earlier, the National Commission for Scheduled Tribes had recommended the inclusion of Ladakh under the 6th schedule.

Main provisions of 6th Schedule

  • This Schedule has provisions for the administration of tribal areas in the north east states of Meghalaya, Assam, Tripura, Mizoram.
  • This schedule has provisions for constitution of autonomous districts and councils to frame laws to protect interests of the tribal.
  • It was constituted under Article 244 of the Constitution of India.
  • It currently holds provisions for the administration of tribal areas in Meghalaya, Assam, Tripura and Mizoram. It was passed by the Constituent Assembly in the year 1949. It seeks to safeguard the Autonomous District Councils.

Why should Ladakh be included in 6th Schedule?

More than 90 per cent of Union Territory Ladakh population is tribal. The primary Scheduled Tribes (ST) of UT Ladakh are Bot, Balti Beda, Brokpa, Changpa, Mon, Garra and Purigpa. Including Ladakh in the 6th schedule will help to enhance the transfer of funds for speedy development of the region.

National Commission for Scheduled Tribes

The commission was established under the 89th Amendment Act of 2003. It monitors matters related to safeguards provided for the Scheduled Tribes under the Constitution. It advises the planning process of socio-economic development of ST. It also evaluates the development in the Union Territory and in the state.

Committee formed for preservation of Ladakh