the People’s Republic of China announced the suspension of extradition treaties of Hong Kong with Australia, Canada and UK.

PRC’s China has brought the suspension under its New Security Law in Hong Kong. According to the law, China gained full control on Hong Kong including external affairs and defence.

United Kingdom suspended its extradition treaty following Canada and Australia. Recently New Zealand also ended its extradition treaty with Mainland China.

Extradition Treaty

Extradition is an act under which a authority delivers a person convicted or accused of committing crime in another authority . It is a cooperative law enforcement process that depends on the arrangements made between the respective nations.


India has no sign Extradition treaty with PRC’s, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Myanmar, Maldives and Pakistan. Further, India has signed extradition treaties with Canada, Australia, United States of America, United Kingdom and Italy. It is the policy of Indian Govt to sign as many as possible extradition treaties to make sure the fugitive criminals are extradited to face trials in India.

How is Fugitive different from extradition?

A Fugitive is a person who run from country to escape govt arrest, non-governmental questioning and refuses to return to country. A Fugitive shall be forced to leave a nation where he has fled to based on Extradition treaty.

In India, after Nirav Modi and Vijay Mallya, the ED ((Enforcement Directorate) law enforcement agency and economic intelligence agency )is close to obtain fugitive economic offender tag for the arms dealer Sanjay Bhandari.

China suspended Hong Kong Extradition Treaty China suspended Hong Kong Extradition Treaty