26th Feb Today In History 26th Feb Today In History

Shaktikanta Das (born 26 February 1957) is a retired 1980 batch Indian Administrative Service (IAS) officer of Tamil Nadu cadre. Currently serving as the 25th governor of the Reserve Bank of India (RBI), he was earlier a member of the 15th Finance Commission and India’s Sherpa to the G20. During his career as an IAS officer, Das served in various capacities for Indian and Tamil Nadu governments, including as Economic Affairs Secretary, Revenue Secretary, Fertilizers Secretary.

Sriti Jha (born 26 February 1986) is an Indian television actress who appears in Indian soap operas. She rose to prominence with her roles in the shows Jiya Jale, Jyoti, Dil Se Di Dua… Saubhagyavati Bhava?, Balika Vadhu and Kumkum Bhagya. She won the Indian Telly Award for Best Actress in a Lead Role for portraying Pragya in Zee TV’s Kumkum Bhagya.

Bandaru Dattatreya (born 26 February 1947) is an Indian politician and the Governor of the State of Himachal Pradesh.He was the Member of Lok Sabha for Secunderabad since 2014. He belongs to the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). Born in Hyderabad, Dattatreya graduated with a science degree. He joined Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh in 1965 and was imprisoned during The Emergency.

Sehban Azim is an Indian television actor. He has worked in TV shows like Dill Mill Gayye, Ek Hazaaron Mein Meri Behna Hai, Humsafars, Thapki Pyaar Ki and Bepannaah. He also played the lead role in a short film named Stations. He is currently playing the lead role of ACP Malhar Rane in Zee TV’s Tujhse Hai Raabta.

Sir Benegal Narsing Rau, CIE, (26 February 1887 – 30 November 1953) was an Indian civil servant, jurist, diplomat and statesman known for his key role in drafting the Constitution of India. He was also India’s representative to the United Nations Security Council from 1950 to 1952. His brothers were Governor of the Reserve Bank of India Benegal Rama Rau and journalist and politician B. Shiva Rao.

Noteworthy Moments

In 1966 34 national leaders charge Indira Gandhi’s rule is ‘constitutional dictatorship’.

In 1976 V. S. Khandekar was honoured by Bhartiya Gyanpeeth Award for the novel ‘Yayati’.

In 1984 Satellite Insat 1-B dedicated to the nation by Prime Minister Indira Gandhi.

In 1996 Parliament’s budget session opens.

In 1996 Sahib Singh Verma sworn in as Delhi’s second CM.