The Pulitzer Prize for 2021 was recently conferred. Megha Rajagopalan, an Indian-origin journalist, has won this top journalism award of United States on 11th June 2021.

  • Megha Rajagopalan won the prize along with two contributors.
  • Megha has won Prize for innovative investigative reports exposing infrastructure of prisons and mass internment camps which were built secretly by China and detained Muslims in Xinjiang region.
  • Other two winners are Tampa Bay Times’ Neil Bedi who won for local reporting and Kathleen McGrory who has been awarded for series exposing a Sheriff’s Office initiative which used computer modelling to identify some 1000 people who could be future criminals.

Pulitzer Prize

The Pulitzer Prize begins in 1942 for a distinguished example of reporting on international affairs. Till the 1947, this award was called as Pulitzer Prize for Telegraphic Reporting – International. It is an award for achievements in newspaper, magazine and online journalism, musical composition and literature within the United States. It was established by provisions in the will of Joseph Pulitzer. These prizes are awarded yearly in 21 categories. Winners receive a certificate and a $15,000 cash award.

Megha Rajagopalan

A journalist who won Pulitzer Prize for International Reporting 2021 on her reports on China’s mass detention camps for Uighurs Muslims in Xinjiang Province. She had graduated in the year 2008 from Philip Merrill College of Journalism at Maryland University.

Megha Rajagopalan conferred with Pulitzer Prize 2021 Megha Rajagopalan conferred with Pulitzer Prize 2021