15th July Today In History 15th July Today In History

Kumaraswami Kamaraj (15 July 1903 – 2 October 1975), was a founder and leader of the Indian National Congress (Organisation), widely acknowledged as the “Kingmaker” in Indian politics during the 1960s. He also served as the president of the Indian National Congress for two terms i.e. four years between 1964–1967.

Vijay Shekhar Sharma (born 1978) is an Indian billionaire businessman. He is the founder of mobile payments company Paytm. Sharma was ranked as India’s youngest billionaire in 2017 by the Forbes with a net worth of $2.1 billion.

Shailesh Lodha is an Indian actor, comedian and writer. He is known for playing the role of Taarak Mehta (a real life Gujarati columnist) in India’s longest running sitcom serial Taarak Mehta Ka Ooltah Chashmah, since July 2008.

Anu Haasan (born Anuradha Chandrahaasan on 15 July 1970) is an Indian Tamil actress and TV anchor. She made her film debut in the critically acclaimed Indira (1995) and has since appeared in many Tamil films, playing minor roles.

Madath Thekkepaattu Vasudevan Nair (born 9 August 1933), popularly known as MT, is an Indian author, screenplay writer and film director. He is a prolific and versatile writer in modern Malayalam literature, and is one of the masters of post-Independence Indian literature.

Noteworthy Moments

In 1788 Ghulam Kadir, the infamous son of Jabita Khan, conquered Delhi.

In 1920 Earthquake in Delhi.

In 1948 Establishment of ‘PEPS’ (Patiyala and East Punjab States Union).

In 1979 Morarji Desai resigns as PM. Jagjivan Ram elected Janata Parliamentary party leader.

In 1997 Mahesh Chander Mehta, Environmental activist, wins Ramon Magsaysay Award.